Currently, there are 25 states that have legalized some form of marijuana use and four states where recreational marijuana use is permitted. However, if you are caught with even a small amount of the drug in the state of Texas, don't expect to get off easy.
Marijuana possession is still illegal under Texas law, and even 2 ounces or less of it can result in a misdemeanor, punishable by up to 180 days in jail and a fine of $2,000. In fact, someone caught with a pan of pot brownies could potentially face life in prison because law enforcement measures the entire weight of the edibles instead of just the marijuana added to it.
The Texas political director of the Marijuana Policy Project said reform activists will be lobbying hard this legislative session to get the laws to change. She told the San Antonio Current that the two main goals will be easing up criminal penalties for simple possession and expanding permitted medical use of the drug.
She said the goal will be to take away the threat of arrest, jail time and a permanent criminal record for someone facing simple possession charges.
What to do if you are charged with marijuana possession in Texas
Until Texas lawmakers agree to ease up the state's laws on marijuana-related offenses -- which could take years to finally happen -- anyone charged with these crimes must take the situation very seriously. That means calling a criminal defense lawyer immediately.
A criminal defense lawyer can analyze the facts surrounding the arrest for any possible defense strategies, and at the very least, negotiate a more favorable plea agreement with prosecutors.
Even though many states have lowered criminal penalties for simple marijuana possession -- or removed them altogether -- Texas still has strict laws that are enforced by police and prosecutors. Don't let a minor drug conviction ruin your life or derail your future
Keep reading about how our firm can build a defense strategy on your behalf.